Revisiting My Writing Process

Today over on my blog, The Reese Ryan Diaries, I’m participating in a blog hop dealing with my writing process.  Here’s an excerpt:

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

14:465 Pen & Paper by Matt Beckwith. Some rights reserved.I think my Bad Boys Gone Good series falls at this weird cross between Contemporary Romance and Romantic Women’s Fiction. For me, the story can never be simply about the romance between the hero and heroine. I want to see all of the elements that make these characters who they are. That usually involves family. There is probably a lot more of the heroine and/or hero’s journey in my stories than you’ll find in a lot of romance. And there is always lots of family drama.

On the other hand, the heat level of the romance makes the books differ from most romantic women’s fiction. I’m kind of a genre-bending rulebreaker. But you probably couldn’t tell. ;-)

What am I working on now? Why do I write what I do?

For those answers, read the full post here. Then find out which authors are up next.

Leave a Reply

