Finding My Own Way as a Writer

 

Image

Our topic this month over at the Contemporary Romance Cafe is particularly bad writing advice we’ve received. Deciding which advice works and which doesn’t can be difficult, especially for a newer writer.

I had a critique partner who was constantly suggesting that I lengthen my phrases and sentences. If you know me, even a little bit, you know that’s the last thing I need. Instead, I’m working toward crafting tighter, leaner prose and quickening the pace of my passages. So, I mastered the art of the wry smile and gentle head nod whenever he suggested it; letting it go in one ear and out the other.

Yet, there’s the rub when it comes to advice of any kind. A fine balance must be achieved. We must learn to discern between the wheat and the chaff. Not always an easy  task.

Read the rest of the article here: http://contemporaryromancecafe.com/finding-my-own-way-as-a-writer/

 

“Chaos Inside” photo courtesy of Hartwig HKD.

 

Leave a Reply

